Faculty

Kinesiology Faculty:

Full-Time Faculty
""MATT MARKOVICH
Dean of Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance / Athletic Director
(707) 524-1849
mmarkovich@santarosa.edu
""LENNY WAGNER
Kinesiology Dance and Athletics Department Chair / Head Football Coach
(707) 527-4393
lwagner@santarosa.edu
""KATHY BELL
Disability Resources Specialist / Adaptive Physical Education
(707) 524-1856
kbell@santarosa.edu
""LACEY CAMPBELL
Head Women's Basketball Coach / Instructor
(707) 527-4265
lcampbell@santarosa.edu
""DANTE DePAOLA
Defensive Coordinator Football / Instructor
(707) 527-4237
ddepaola@santarosa.edu
""CASANDRA HILLMAN
Dance Coordinator / Instructor
(707) 527-4260
chillman@santarosa.edu
""TARA JACOBSON
Instructor / Petaluma Dean
(707) 778-4116
tjacobson@santarosa.edu
M""ARTY KINAHAN
Head Men's Soccer Coach / Instructor
(707) 524-1814
mkinahan@santarosa.edu
""JILL MCCORMICK
Head Swim and Dive Coach / Instructor
(707) 527-4369
jmccormick@santarosa.edu
""CRAIG MCMILLAN
Head Men's Basketball Coach / Instructor
(707) 527-4374
cmcmillan@santarosa.edu
""DAMON NEIDLINGER
Head Baseball Coach / Instructor
(707) 527-4389
dneidlinger@santarosa.edu
""MONICA OHKUBO 
Certified Head Athletic Trainer / Instructor
(707) 527-4457
mohkubo@santarosa.edu
""KEITH SIMONS
Instructor
(707) 527-4314
ksimons@santarosa.edu
""KAREN STANLEY
Instructor
(707) 524-1815
kstanley@santarosa.edu
""ANDREA THOMAS
Instructor / Petaluma Campus
(707) 778-4118
athomas@santarosa.edu
""DAVID WELLMAN
Head Cross Country and Track & Field Coach/ Instructor
(707) 527-4456
dwellman@santarosa.edu
CLASSIFIED
John Adams, Lab Assistant/Adapted PE
jadams@santarosa.edu
707-527-4470
Blair Bavuso, Equipment Technician II
bbavuso@santarosa.edu
707-527-4242
Desiree Canevari, Lab Assistant/Adapted PE
dcanevari@santarosa.edu
707-527-4470
Rose Hernandez, Administrative Assistant II
vgarcia@santarosa.edu
707-524-1817
Therese Jennings, Administrative Assistant III
tjennings@santarosa.edu
707-524-1718
John McCallum, Equipment Technician I
jmccallum@santarosa.edu
707-527-4242
Nicholas Rogers, Lab Assistant/Adapted PE
nrogers@santarosa.edu
707-527-4470

 

Adjunct Faculty
Alexander, Greg
galexander@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Ballatore, Kevin
kballatore@santarosa.edu
707-521-6064
Becker, Kimberly
kbecker@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Blanquie, Shauna
sblanquie@santarosa.edu
707-527-4323
Branen-Ahumada, Lara
lbranen-ahumada@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5180
Buechner, Ben
bbuechner@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Burch, Donna
dburch@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5295
Callahan, Marty
mcallahan@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5402
Comish, Paul
pcomish@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5286
Denize, Tyler
Head Men's Water Polo Coach/ Instructor
ddenize@santarosa.edu
707-521-7935
Derkos, Izzy
iderkos@santarosa.edu
707-527-4368
Eggert, Justin
jeggert@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Ferguson, Kaitlin
Head Volleyball Coach/Instructor
kferguson@santarosa.edu
707-521-7971
Finwall, Alyce
afinwall@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Fischl, Lynn
lfischl@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x9637
Fitzpatrick, Jake
Head Wrestling Coach/Instructor
jfitzpatrick@santarosa.edu
707-527-4411
Grose, Tamara
tgrose@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Hennan, Chelsea
Head Women's Water Polo Coach/Instructor
chennan@santarosa.edu
707-481-3462
Herrington, Dave
Head Golf Coach/Instructor
dherrington@santarosa.edu
707-527-4589
Hill, Nick
nhill@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Howard, Crystal
Head Women's Soccer Coach/Instructor
choward@santarosa.edu
707-527-4669
Irwin, Nolan
Head Diving Coach/Instructor
nirwin@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Jensen, Ryan
rjensen@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
LaFontaine, Joshua
jlafontaine@santarosa.edu 
707-527-4323
Latourette, Dave
dlatourette@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Little, Todd
tlittle@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Manning, Jeanne-Marie
jmanning@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Marchus, Kristine
kmarchus@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
McCall, Dave
dmccall@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
McCray, James
jmccray@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5122
Mentch, Mike
mmentch@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x9786
Miller, Jack
jmiller3@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Mitchell, Tom
tmitchell@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Mohr, Guy
gmohr@santarosa.edu
707-527-4323
Murphy, Christy
cmurphy@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Muster, Brad
bmuster@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Niles, Rick
rniles@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Orr, Venona
vorr@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Poisson, Lea
lpoisson@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Samonte, James
Head Tennis Coach/Instructor
jsamonte@santarosa.edu
707-524-1787
Scott, Al
ascott@santarosa.edu
707-522-2720
Sereni, David
dsereni@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Stillman, Carrie
cstillman@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x5160
Tartuffe, Destinee
dtartuffe@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Tolmasoff, Tanya
ttolmasoff@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Urista, Dawn
durista@santarosa.edu
707-527-4237
Weymouth-Payne, Ariel
aweymouth-payne@santarosa.edu
707-527-4999 x9665
Wortman, Mike
mwortman@santarosa.edu
707-527-4440

 

Dance Faculty:

Casandra Hillman, Dance Coordinator (Full Time)

chillman@santarosa.edu

Casandra Hillman is a dance educator, choreographer, collaborator and dance historian. She has been performing, teaching and choreographing in the San Francisco Bay Area since 2003 and in Santa Cruz since 2011.  

Casandra holds her MFA in Dance from Mills College and her BFA in Dance from the School of Music and Dance at SFSU. Her understanding of movement and the human body is informed by her study of Ballet, Laban Movement Analysis, Bartineff, Jazz, Hip Hop and Limon, Cunningham and Graham modern dance techniques. She has performed the choreographic works of Molissa Fenley, Kathleen McClintock, Dr. Alberta Rose, Susan Whipp and the late Alicia Pierce. She has also performed in the re-staging of Martha Graham’s Primitive Mysteries and re-staged the choreography of Agnes DeMille’s Carousel. She was an Adjunct Professor of Dance at Cabrillo College in Aptos 2010-2016 and during her time there served the community as a Santa Cruz Arts Council Associate and SPECTRA Artist.  

Casandra is the Founder/Artistic Director of URBAN INDUSTRY Dance Company, an all-female Contemporary Hip-Hop company that has performed in National Dance Week, Santa Cruz Hip Hop Festival, Max-10 and Cultural Caliente.  Casandra has also been a visiting artist at Marin School of the Arts, Golden State Theatre and a Master Instructor at ACDA.  

 

Carrie Stillman, Instructor- cstillman@santarosa.edu

""

 

 

 

 

Carrie Lynn Stillman received her M.A. in dance from CSU, Long Beach (2001) and her B.A. in dance from UC, Santa Barbara (1992), and has been on the dance faculty at SRJC since fall 2000.

Carrie has also worked as a certified Pilates instructor since 1995, and owns her pilates-based studio, Mindful Movement, in Santa Rosa.

She has choreographed, danced, and co-directed for several local dance companies and studios in a variety of settings throughout Sonoma and Marin counties since 1992 to the present.

Carrie is continuously striving to stay open, innovative, and present through movement expression and education, not letting the ego block conscious creativity, with the intention of propelling students into a positive state of being through learning and self discovery.

 

Alexandra Cummins, Instructor -acummins@santarosa.edu

 

Alexandra received her MFA in Performance and Choreography from Mills College as well as a BA in Theater Arts with a concentration in dance from Sonoma State University.  She has trained in various dance techniques including musical theater, jazz, tap, ballroom, rhythm, ballet, and modern.  Alexandra presently teaches at UC Berkeley and the Academy of Art University.  In addition, Alexandra was the resident choreographer/dance instructor for Roustabout Theater in the north bay and served as the dance department head for Frenchwoods Performing Arts in upstate New York.  She has had the pleasure of performing around the Bay Area in works by Merce Cunningham, Sheldon Smith, Sonya Delwaide, Scott Wells, Kristen Daley, Nancy Lyons, and Mark Haim.  She has also been privileged to perform with Barclay Broadway Dance Company in San Francisco, CA.  Alexandra competes in Future Champions and Jack & Jill competitions through Arthur Murray.

 

Dawn Urista, Instructor- durista@santarosa.edu

""

 

 

 

 

Dawn Urista received her MFA in Dance from the University of Oregon in 2011 and graduated from UC Irvine in 2002 with degrees in both Dance and History. Prior to her MFA studies at the University of Oregon she performed professionally in San Francisco with group A dance and with the Conservatory of Classical Ballet.

She has participated in the Royal Danish Ballet’s summer intensive in Copenhagen where her instructors included Thomas Lund, Vivi Findt, Johnny Eliasen, Eva Draw, and Raymond Rodriguez.

In collegiate and professional work she has danced for  Alexandrous Ballard, Sue Borgeson, Tamara Grose, Walter Kennedy, Valerie Ifill, Alyssa Lee, Donald McKayle, Ann Fisher-Ratto, Michael Lowe, Sally Streets, Xiao Liu-Moore, Larry Rosenberg, Glenda Carhart, and David Allen; and has acquired a repertory of post-modern dance as well as classical and contemporary ballet.

Her MFA research entails a comparison of two versions of Giselle's Mad Scene and a look into the historical and cultural reasons for different characterizations. She also harbors an unholy lifelong love of books, bookmaking, and letterpress design and enjoys incorporating the temporality of dance with the physical imprint of the bound pages.

Tamara Grose, Instructor- tgrose@santarosa.edu

 

Born into a family of dance, Tamara began her training under the tutelage of her parents in Charlotte, N.C. Her mother was a ballet instructor of the highest International Cecchetti Instructor status, and Director of Charlotte City Ballet.  Her father was a national ballroom and tap instructor and served as president of D.M.A. and D.E.A. The studio was involved with Hit Productions TV and commercial filming.  Tamara went on to further her dance education earning a B.F.A. from the University of North Carolina School of the Performing Arts, Harkness House on scholarship, Certificate of Accomplishment with High Honors in Cecchetti levels 4-6 at Michigan State University’s Cecchetti Conferences, and other numerous national and international dance institutes.  A few of Tamara’s major influences have been Lar Lubovitch, Finis Jung, Margaret Craske, Melissa Hayden and David Howard. Ms. Grose has extensive teaching experience having taught for, Allegra Kent Ballet School in Scarsdale, N.Y., Brooklyn College Dance Department, Master Classes on U.S.A. tour with The Artist in the Schools Residency Program. Tamara was offered the choice of soloist or Ballet Mistress for N.C.D.T., she chose a professional dance career.

 

Lea Poisson, Instructor - lpoisson@santarosa.edu

Lea Marcella Poisson finished her BA in Dance at CSU Long Beach (2003), after transferring from SRJC where she received her AA and Certificate Degree in Dance. She has found that her experiences and education were immensely imperative in her development as a performer, choreographer, and teacher.   Lea has always enjoyed the art and joy of performing, the creative process of collaboration with others, the composition experience and results of choreographing. As a performer, she has worked as a Warrior Girl for the NBA's Golden State Warriors and a Gold Rush member for the NFL's San Francisco 49ers. Lea has performed with modern dance companies in the North Bay such as De/Em Dance Collective and Expressive Motion. Also, she loves practicing methods of teaching dance that will help dancers to maximize their potential. Lea has not only danced but choreographed, taught, and coached dance locally for years and she loves teaching people of different characteristics and those of diverse abilities.

 

Other Faculty:

Alyce Finwall, Instructor:  afinwall@santarosa.edu

 

 

Tanya Tolmasoff, Instructor - ttolmasoff@santarosa.edu

 

Tanya Tolmasoff has been an instructor at Santa Rosa JC Dance Department since 2015.  Her dance classes have a strong emphasis on artistic collaboration, contemporary ballet & release technique, Modern improvisation, choreography and performance quality. She holds her MA in Arts Administration & Cultural Policy from Goldsmith University London, and a BA in Theatre, Dance, and Costume Design from Cal Poly, SLO.  She is the Artistic Director and Co-Founder of UPside Dance Company in California since 2012, bringing innovative dance to unconventional spaces. Tanya Tolmasoff is also the newest dance instructor at ArtQuest at Santa Rosa High School.  Tanya has performed Internationally with Variable Velocity Performance Group (California), Deyo Dances (California and St. Petersburg, Russia), Interweave Dance Theatre (Colorado), AMP: Dance (NYC), RE:DS Dance Company (London, UK), and a Viennese Circus Act.  As a designer she created Theater costumes for off-Broadway productions in NYC and directed a Californian Fashion Company called Melanie Renee Design.  

 

Nzinga Woods, Instructor - nwoods@santarosa.edu

Nzinga Woods is a dancer, teacher, choreographer, performer, and explorer of movement and embodied knowledge. Nzinga's dance and performance training includes: jazz, modern, Dunham, Afro-Cuban, hip hop, and Afro-Haitian dance, as well as multimedia, theatre and somatic techniques. A native of Sacramento, she has danced with and choreographed for many dance companies and organizations in Northern California. She has traveled around the world from Caribbean, Europe and Asia dancing and also working with school aged youth. Nzinga received her B.A. and M.A. at CSU Sacramento, and completed her M.F.A. in Performance and Choreography  at Mills College. She has performed in the works of Ronald K Brown, Sonya Delwaide, Jawole Willa Jo Zollar, Nicholas Leichter, Brenda Way, Jacinta Vlach, Yvonne Rainer, Linda Goodrich, Marc Bamuthi Joseph, Halifu Osumare and Keith Washington. In addition to performance and choreography, Nzinga is also passionate about youth empowerment through the arts and remains an active educator in her community. Nzinga Woods was also named Sonoma County's EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR in 2018.  

 

 

Athletics Faculty:

See the official Athletics website's staff directory

 

Sports Medicine Faculty:

See the official Sports Medicine website's Team page